They all said “no” to rehab, but this time she said “yes!”

31 May

History shows that some of the best artists live their lives with the worst of health. I remember growing up listening to Judy Garland, the Carpenters, Kurt Cobain, Janis Joplin, Michael Jackson, and Jim Morrison to name a few. Whether these artists were dipping into drugs or struggling with other disorders such as anorexia, it is obvious that they drove their bodies to death. It’s so unfortunate because these are the ones that made such a historical impact on music. There are the infamous words that have been spoken so many times that the good ones die young. It’s so awful to see anyone with so much talent, who is loved and respected by millions, fail to overcome the demons that come along with having such fame.

My most recent obsession musically is Amy Winehouse. I remember hearing her for the first time in 2007. She was all the hype; I was hooked and hungry for more. I picked up her album Back to Black and it remained on repeat for months. I then grabbed her album Frank, realizing I was truly in love with her. I can close my eyes and hear hints of Sarah Vaughan and Ella Fitzgerald in her voice. What makes me love her so much is that she never sings the same song, the same way twice. She is always adding new runs and flavors every time she performs.

We all know her best for her own opinions on her addiction “they tried to make me go to rehab and I said no, no, no.” I picked up her live dvd I Told You I Was Trouble: Live in London. It is so amazing to watch, I get goosebumps every time. Her father appears in it and with his sweet English accent, quotes “she doesn’t need to go to rehab…I think she’s fine.”

While doing some more Amy research, I came across some videos where she looks clean, rather pre-addiction. She looks young and healthy, ready to grow and be known.

I would do anything to see her live, but part of me fears this opportunity may never happen. I read articles about her going in and out of rehab, it almost seems impossible for her to overcome this. I know that she been planning on releasing a new album, however today I found an article on MTV.com that leads me to believe otherwise. They explain how doctors have spoken to her and her family, emphasizing that another drink will send her to the grave.

Are we going to lose another artist to drugs? It’s all so sad to me. I’d die to have the voice that she and the others were born with. I’d give anything to sit inside of Cherrytree Records, where so many other artists have sat, open my mouth and leave the entire room speechless. I pray for Amy that she gets the support and treatment that she needs to get out of this awful place that she is in. For now I just keep listening to her music, hoping to hear more from her soon. She is so unique and inspiring. Her voice takes me to another place that I can’t explain.

Amy Winehouse – To Know Him Is To Love Him

Ta-ta, Mear

One Response to “They all said “no” to rehab, but this time she said “yes!””

  1. sistermeary August 26, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    It breaks my heart to go back and read this now that she has passed. I pray that Amy is in a better place than she was, and may her music live on forever. RIP

Leave a Reply

